SC Biz News


Subscribe to Our Digital Newsletters

Industry veteran Williams named new chairman of SC Aerospace advisory board

  • Staff Report
Print Story
  • Share

Ian Williams, vice president and general manager of TIGHitco's Aerostructures Division, has been named chairman of SC Aerospace’s advisory board.

Williams, who has 30 years of experience in the aerospace industry in the United States and Europe, succeeds Ranger Aerospace CEO Steve Townes, who has served as chairman since the advisory board’s inception in 2013 and will continue to serve as a board member.


Williams was named to his new role Aug. 30 at the fourth annual S.C. Aerospace Conference and Expo in Columbia.

“I am honored to welcome Ian as SC Aerospace’s new chairman,” Townes said in a news release. “It has been a pleasure to serve with him thus far, and I look forward to the unique perspective and ideas he will bring to the future of SC Aerospace.”

Williams began his aerospace career in 1987 as an airframe mechanic and worked his way into upper management roles, where he has served for more than 15 years.

TIGHitco Inc. has six locations in the United States and Mexico. The company, which has a location in North Charleston, specializes in the design, fabrication and assembly of engineered components for aerospace and industrial applications.

Three other industry leaders have also been added to SC Aerospace’s advisory board: Leslie Farmer of Lockheed Martin; Don Myers of Toray; and Michael van Tooren of the McNair Center for Aerospace Innovation and Research at the University of South Carolina.

The board is made up of private-sector industry leaders representing aerospace-related companies. 

“Our advisory board is a key factor in the success of SC Aerospace,” said Adrianne Beasley, director of SC Aerospace. “Their perspectives from across the industry allow us to stay current on the opportunities and issues facing South Carolina’s aerospace cluster.”

  • Share
Write a Comment