SC Biz News


Subscribe to Our Digital Newsletters

Unemployment assistance now available to flood victims

  • cmsteam
Print Story
  • Share

Staff Report
Published Oct. 6, 2015

Disaster Unemployment Assistance is now available to assist those in 11 counties now unemployed as a result of the unprecedented storms and floods that rocked the Midlands earlier this week, the S.C. Department of Employment and Workforce said.

Those counties are Berkeley, Charleston, Clarendon, Dorchester, Georgetown, Horry, Lexington, Orangeburg, Richland, Sumter and Williamsburg. Additional counties may be added later, the department said. The deadline to apply is 30 days from the date DEW begins taking claims.

Those workers may also be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits under the program, executive director Cheryl Stanton said.

Workers or business owners must meet the following criteria to be eligible: 

· Individuals unemployed due to the disaster and do not qualify for regular unemployment insurance benefits.

· Self-employed individuals and small business owners who lost income due to the disaster.

· Individuals prevented from working due to an injury caused by the disaster.

· Individuals who have become the major supplier of household income due to the disaster-related death or injury of the previous major supplier of household income.

· Individuals unable to reach their job or self-employment location because they must travel through the affected area and are prevented from doing so by the disaster.

· Individuals who were to commence employment or self-employment but were prevented by the disaster.

  • Share
Write a Comment