SC Biz News


Subscribe to Our Digital Newsletters

Deadlines approaching to file for disaster aid

  • cmsteam
Print Story
  • Share

Staff Report
Published Oct. 28, 2015

Disaster Unemployment Assistance deadlines are coming up for 19 of the 24 counties which have been declared eligible by FEMA.

Deadlines for the 19 counties are all next week, including Nov. 4 for Richland and Lexington counties. The other counties with deadlines are Bamberg, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dorchester, Florence, Greenwood, Georgetown, Horry, Kershaw, Lee, Orangeburg, Sumter and Williamsburg.

“We encourage anyone who has lost wages, due to the direct result of the storm, to apply for assistance,” said Cheryl Stanton, Department of Employment and Workforce executive director. “Regardless if you are an employee, self-employed or the owner of a small business, this program is designed for you.”

In addition, the U.S. Agriculture Department has issued a disaster designation for 29 counties, which makes farm operators in these areas eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency, including emergency loans. Among the counties eligible are Aiken, Florence, Lexington, Newberry, Richland and Sumter.

Farmers have eight months from the date of the secretarial disaster declaration to apply. Each application is considered on its own merit, FSA said, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

The following are county-by-county application filing deadlines for Disaster Unemployment Assistance:

dua deadlines
Source: S.C. Department of Employment and Workforce

The program makes funds available to assist people who became unemployed as a direct result of the torrential storm and ensuing floods. It also is available to small business owners and the self-employed, including 1099 contract workers, who lost personal income due to the disaster.

One or more the following criteria must be met to qualify for this program:

· Individuals who are unemployed due to the disaster, and do not qualify for regular unemployment insurance benefits.

· Self-employed individuals and small business owners who lost income due to the disaster.

· Individuals who were prevented from working due to an injury caused by the disaster.

· Individuals who have become the major supplier of household income due to the disaster-related death or injury of the previous major supplier of household income.

· Individuals who are unable to reach their job or self-employment location because they must travel through the affected area and are prevented from doing so by the disaster.

· Individuals who were to commence employment or self-employment but were prevented by the disaster.

  • Share
Write a Comment