SC Biz News


Subscribe to Our Digital Newsletters

SCANA and subsidiaries paid $226M in property tax in 2018

  • Staff Report
Print Story
  • Share

SCANA Corp. and its subsidiaries paid $226.4 million in property tax in South Carolina in 2018, $17 million more than in 2017.

Richland and Lexington counties received the largest payments at more than $43 million each, according to a news release from principal subsidiary S.C. Electric & Gas.

Virginia-based Dominion Energy acquired SCANA and its subsidiaries earlier this month, forming Southeast Energy Group.

“The taxes that we pay on the company’s power stations, electric lines, substations, real estate and other assets in our service territory are essential funds for counties throughout South Carolina,” Iris Griffin, Southeast Energy Group vice president of financial management and integration, said in the release. “By providing monetary support for schools, law enforcement agencies, fire departments and other critical public services, the positive economic impact is seen throughout the communities we serve.”

Fairfield County, home of the V.C. Summer nuclear power station, received approximately $35 million.

Other significant tax payments included:

  • Aiken County - $10.6 million
  • Allendale County: $1.4 million
  • Bamberg County: $2.2 million
  • Barnwell County: $2.1 million
  • Beaufort County: $6.5 million
  • Berkeley County: $10.6 million
  • Calhoun County: $3.3 million
  • Charleston County: $21.6 million
  • Colleton County: $3.4 million
  • Dorchester County: $6.4 million
  • Edgefield County: $1.6 million
  • Florence County: $1.3 million
  • Hampton County: $2.9 million
  • Horry County: $1 million
  • Jasper County: $6.1 million
  • Newberry County: $1.6 million
  • Orangeburg County: $15 million
  • Saluda County: $1.5 million
  • Sumter County: $1 million

  • Share
Write a Comment